Skip to content ↓


Teaching Staff:

Mr G Kent 
Mr L Fuller

Examining board: Edexcel


A BTEC First Award and Certificate is a practical, work-related course.  You learn by completing projects and assignments that are based on realistic workplace situations and activities.  It introduces you to the employment area you have chosen and provides a good basis to go on to a more advanced work-related qualification.

  • The BTEC First Award is equivalent to one GCSE grades A*– C
  • The BTEC First Certificate is equivalent to two GCSEs grades A*– C

How is the Course Structured?

Types of Units Within the Qualifications:

The BTEC First qualifications have core, mandatory and optional specialist units. These are an example of the units required to pass the certificate in engineering.

Core Units

Unit 1 The Engineered World                                                                                                      External 30 hrs.
Unit 2 Investigating an Engineered Product  Internal  30 hrs.

Mandatory Units

Unit 9 Interpreting and Using Engineering Information                                                                      External 30 hrs.
Unit 10 Mathematics for Engineering Internal  30 hrs.

Optional Specialist Units

Unit 4 Engineering Maintenance                                                                                                       Internal 30 hrs.
Unit 5 Engineering Materials Internal 30 hrs.
Unit 6 Computer-aided Engineering Internal 30 hrs.
Unit 7 Machining Techniques  Internal 60 hrs.

What can I do at the end of the course?

With further training or study, students may progress into careers in the Engineering industry including:

  • Engineering.
  • Construction.
  • Architecture.
  • Motor Vehicle design and manufacture.
  • Motor Vehicle maintenance.
  • Structural Engineer.

A BTEC First in Engineering prepares you for employment and provides a good grounding to go on to a more advanced course, such as:

  • BTEC National Diploma, Certificate or Award in Engineering.
  • BTEC National Diploma or Certificate in Engineering.